Dog Hair and Dead Fish

Massive amounts of dog hair and dead fish are in my midst. This is the backdrop of the cycle of life and death permeating every aspect of my current living situation. It’s what I must endure for the time being due to co-habitation brought on through hard times. There’s no place like home, there’s no place like home…

They say home is where the heart is, but once we leave the past, we can never really turn back. We can only take momentary excursions into a space and time where life was much simpler, love was unconditional and emotions were green. Maybe that’s why I am such a nostalgia nut. I know I can’t go back to to the good ol’ days but I appreciate my quick trips down memory lane. This is all 6 of Cups stuff. I love what the 6 of Cups symbolizes, but I dislike the illustration of this card in the Rider-Waite tarot deck. It’s my least favorite card of the deck in terms of graphical representation. I had to sit here and do the knowledge of why I am repulsed by the image. For one, there is too much yellow in the card for my taste. The tone of yellow is jarring and almost surreal. The yellow cups blend in with the background so well that they are almost indiscernible from it. I took this to mean that the past is but an illusion. It is essentially here with us now, but in spirit, not in actual physical reality. You can return to it at any time, but you must not linger longer than a moment. Let the dead bury the dead is one of my favorite adages ascribed to Jesus the Christ. The yellow color is also reminiscent of the proverbial yellow brick road. The road that leads us beyond the illusion of the grass being greener on the other side. The illusion of time and its divisions, past, present and future. Can someone tell me how to get to Sesame street? That locale is still within each and every one of us–even those who have had the misfortune of experiencing a hellish upbringing. The 6 of Cups motif is imprinted upon our souls.

I’ve been having quite a few 6 of Cups experiences of late. One of my 6 of Cups experiences deals with a partner from a past life or maybe even from several past lives with whom I will soon physically reunite in this lifetime. My two daughters are viewing cartoons from the 80’s and 90’s as I am typing. This morning my sister contacts me to enlist my help with her blooming bakery business. She would like me to take on the bookkeeping responsibilities. Of course 6 of Cups is about family ties and reconnecting with loved ones, but it is also about using skills that have collected some cobwebs over the years due to lack of utilization. This pertains to my accounting degree and the fact that I have never really used much of my skills in this area. I am up for the challenge and I am always happy to help someone that I love.

I think the image of the 6 of Cups in the Rider-Waite deck is meant to be unappealing with the rationale being that the past is dead and gone; there’s nothing that can be done to alter it so we must acknowledge the past and move on to to a more colorfully diverse present. If the card was very pleasing to the eye, we may be tempted to linger a little too long. 6 of Cups in reversed position is indeed about lingering too long, clinging to the past and having a fear of change. In essence it is the sign Cancer in its weakest manifestation.

As present day reality becomes increasingly indiscernible from the past, we must keep in mind that the past remains as a source of emotional renewal that we can tap into; a spring of innocence that we can commemorate.  The past is a virtual yellow brick road that brings us back to our unadulterated selves.

NAMASTE

Leave a comment